Children's Databases

AbdoDigital Library

Inside MLB

username: kokomo
password: kokomo

 

Early Literacy eBooks as well as Databases on topics such as Science, Social Studies and Sports.

Read more: AbdoDigital Library

Amazing Animals of the World

Details facts about where each animal lives, what it eats, how it sounds, and why it might be endangered today or in the near future.  Helps students conduct meaningful research and prepare reports.

Amazing Animals of the World - Inside Library
Amazing Animals of the World - remotely

Read more: Amazing Animals of the World

America the Beautiful

Provides useful history, fun facts, geography, economics, government, culture and major cities, plus biographical profiles from all fifty United States and U.S. territories. Also includes photographs, illustrations, maps, and more for each state.

America The Beautiful - Inside Library
America The Beautiful - remotely

Read more: America the Beautiful

Biography for Beginners

Brings together all the content of the acclaimed Biography for Beginners print series. This online edition features narrative histories, glossaries, timelines, and illustrations. It may searched by keyword or topic. Included are articles on presidents of the United States, explorers, authors, inventors’ African-American leaders, notable people from Colonial and Revolutionary America, notable women, and more.

Biography for Beginners

Read more: Biography For Beginners

Capstone Interactive Library

Provides colorful, interactive eBooks, all with spoken-word audio and text highlighting. Useful as a resource for children, teachers, and parents.

Capstone Interactive Library

Username: khcpl
Password: library

Read more: Capstone Interactive Library

Culturegrams

Provides details of the history, daily life, and customs of world cultures. Reports typically include a regional overview, national anthem audio file, maps, statistics, photographs, biographies of well-known people, and a recipe collection.

Culturegrams - Inside Library
Culturegrams - remotely

Read more: Culturegrams

Dear Reader - Online Book Clubs

Provides book newsletters that can be emailed to you each month. There are over 22 newsletter choices including: Children's Picture Books, Teen Books, Then and Now, Food & Cooking, and Staff Picks. Includes popular book award lists, including the New York Times Hardcover Fiction Bestsellers.

Dear Reader - Online Book Clubs

 

Read more: Dear Reader - Online Book Clubs

FreedomFlix

Uses the outstanding Cornerstones of Freedom series titles to develop enhanced eBooks which capture defining moments in American history.  Also provides related video content, project ideas, and numerous related opportunities for further research.  Resources for parents, teachers and librarians are excellent.

FreedomFlix! - Inside Library
FreedomFlix! - remotely

Read more: FreedomFlix

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Covers an array of topics for students and adults alike, and indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. It contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Read more: Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Provides full-text access to hundreds of multi-disciplinary reference titles including the American Decades series, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Novels for Students, Shakespeare for Students, and West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, among many more. PDFs can be downloaded to e-readers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Read more: Gale Virtual Reference Library (GRVL)

Inside MLB

Inside MLB

username: kokomo
password: kokomo

 

Offers fun and informational facts about our national pastime. This database is perfect for fans who want to learn more about stats, player lists, team histories, and more!

Read more: Inside MLB

Inside the NFL

Inside MLB

username: kokomo
password: kokomo

 

Provides football stats and records, player lists, keyword searches, leveled texts and primary sources. Inside the NFL offers approachable research for sports enthusiasts. Great for reluctant readers.

Read more: Inside the NFL

INSPIRE

INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Library. INSPIRE is a collection of academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents within the state. INSPIRE includes magazine and journal articles, websites, pamphlets, images, almanacs, library catalogs, and more.

INSPIRE

Read more: INSPIRE

Lands and People

A fun and educational encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events. Each article describes a country's land, people, economy, history, and government. Check out the current news stories, atlas, and educational games including puzzles and brain teasers.

Lands and Peoples - Inside Library
Lands and Peoples - remotely

Read more: Lands and People

Little Pim

Interactive, award-winning program designed specifically to introduce new languages to young children. Features native speakers, excellent pacing, activities and concept groupings to make the language learning process fun and easy.

Little Pim - Inside Library
Little Pim - remotely

Read more: Little Pim

National Geographic Kids

National Geographic Kids

Introduces kids to the amazing, compelling, and surprising with reputable, authoritative, and age-appropriate content that brings them the world in a way they’ve never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. Includes National Geographic Kids magazine 2009-present (3 month lag time). It also contains 200 National Geographic Kids books and 500 kid-friendly, downloadable images.

Read more: National Geographic Kids

NoveList K-8 Plus

Offers readers read-alikes, (ie -If you love Hunger Games, then you’ll also like…). Useful as a Common Core resource, including extensive nonfiction reading recommendations. Also includes reading lists, such as Top Ten, Caldecott Medal, and more.

NoveList K-8 Plus

Read more: NoveList K-8 Plus

OverDrive - EBooks And Audio, Music, And Video Downloads

Provides downloadable audiobooks and eBooks in a wide variety of popular genres, including bestsellers, fiction, romance, suspense, children's and YA, business, self-help and language learning, plus many more. Downloads may be checked out for 7-14 days, downloaded to a computer, burned to a CD, or transferred to a portable device. Titles are automatically returned when due.

Overdrive

Read more: OverDrive - EBooks and Audio, Music, And Video Downloads

Pebble Go Animals

Features more than 200 animal articles correlated to life science standards, animal audio and video, carefully leveled text, educational games, and innovative read-aloud capabilities for K-3 emergent readers and researchers. 

Pebble Go Animals

Read more: Pebble Go Animals

Pebble Go Earth and Space

Includes concepts like weather, seasons, Earth science, and space. Leveled text, educational games, and videos support science concepts for the youngest researchers.

Pebble Go Earth and Science

Read more: Pebble Go Earth and Space

Primary Search

Contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and an image collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.

Primary Search

Read more: Primary Search

Scholastic GO!

Includes an interactive atlas providing geopolitical, historical, and thematic maps, as well as gives coordinates and measures distances; a Dictionary and thesaurus; a Today Is… link — Highlighting important birthdays and historical events, and much more. Also includes a For Educators section — Links to lesson plans and ideas that follow national standards.

Scholastic GO! - Inside Library
Scholastic GO! - remotely

Read more: Scholastic GO!

ScienceFlix

Offers a mobile-ready interactive science resource perfectly designed for the next generation interested in science, technology, and engineering. With an emphasis on the latest STEM thinking and the newest science standards, ScienceFlix provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through a variety of media, including reference articles, videos, hands-on projects, interactive media and more! ScienceFlix also supports educators by supplementing curricula learning with dozens of units spanning key areas of study, and provides lesson plans, quizzes, rubrics, projects and experiments, and more.

Hoopla
Scholastic GO! - remotely

Read more: ScienceFlix

Searchasaurus

Children's Dictionary, Encyclopedia and Image Collection that contains over 470,000 dynamic and educational images in diverse areas from quality licensed image sources. Subject covered in Image Collection include history, politics, animals, topical news photos, and science related photos, as well as maps, cityscapes, landmarks and entertainment.

Searchasaurus

Read more: Searchasaurus

TrueFlix

Provides a collection of 47 True Books in 8 categories that offers introductory videos and media types, leveled texts, voice-over reading features, and soft assessments. Allows students to graduate from "learning to read" to "reading to learn" and master content area knowledge in science and social studies. Supports the Common Core Standards with its featuring of multiple text types and a cross-curricular, nonfiction focus.

Trueflix - Inside Library
Trueflix - remotely

Read more: TrueFlix

TumbleBook Library

Offers animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Titles can be searched by Common Core criteria.

TumbleBook Library

Read more: TumbleBook Library

Unite for Literacy eBooks

This group of over 100 eBooks is written specifically for beginning readers. The ebooks may be read by the child, or they may be narrated to the child in one of twenty different languages.

Capstone Interactive Library

Read more: Unite for Literacy eBooks

United States Presidents

Provides research and biographical information about the US Presidents. With keyword searching, primary sources, leveled text and glossaries, this database is perfect for young researchers and history buffs.

United States Presidents

username: kokomo
password: kokomo

 

Read more: United States Presidents

World Book Online For Kids

Features the entire World Book Encyclopedia, a dictionary, and local and country research guides. There are thousands of complete eBooks and primary source documents. The eBooks include full-text English-language versions in the areas of fiction and nonfiction, as well as books in other languages. Primary sources include official documents, letters, books, speeches, articles, records, interviews, and images from the time period a user is researching.

Read more: World Book Online for Kids

Zinio

Allows patrons to view and checkout magazines with no waiting and no due dates. Zinio is the ultimate app for magazine lovers, with digital magazines for iPad, iPhone, Android, Mac and PC. There are interactive elements such as audio and video, and intuitive searching and navigating within each magazine.

Zinio

Read more: Zinio