History and Geography

America the Beautiful

Provides useful history, fun facts, geography, economics, government, culture and major cities, plus biographical profiles from all fifty United States and U.S. territories. Also includes photographs, illustrations, maps, and more for each state.

America The Beautiful - Inside Library
America The Beautiful - remotely

Read more: America the Beautiful

Biography In Context

Combines more than 600,000 biographies on people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes full-text articles from nearly 300 periodicals.

Biography In Context

Read more: Biography In Context

Culturegrams

Provides details of the history, daily life, and customs of world cultures. Reports typically include a regional overview, national anthem audio file, maps, statistics, photographs, biographies of well-known people, and a recipe collection.

Culturegrams - Inside Library
Culturegrams - remotely

Read more: Culturegrams

FreedomFlix

Uses the outstanding Cornerstones of Freedom series titles to develop enhanced eBooks which capture defining moments in American history.  Also provides related video content, project ideas, and numerous related opportunities for further research.  Resources for parents, teachers and librarians are excellent.

FreedomFlix! - Inside Library
FreedomFlix! - remotely

Read more: FreedomFlix

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Provides full-text access to hundreds of multi-disciplinary reference titles including the American Decades series, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Novels for Students, Shakespeare for Students, and West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, among many more. PDFs can be downloaded to e-readers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Read more: Gale Virtual Reference Library (GRVL)

Global Issues in Context

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information.

Global Issues in Context

Read more: Global Issues in Context

GreenFILE

Provides information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

GreenFILE

Read more: GreenFILE

Indiana History Online

With state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range of primary documents for the study of Indiana history and provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content.

Indiana History Online

Read more: Indiana History Online

Lands and People

A fun and educational encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events. Each article describes a country's land, people, economy, history, and government. Check out the current news stories, atlas, and educational games including puzzles and brain teasers.

Lands and Peoples - Inside Library
Lands and Peoples - remotely

Read more: Lands and People

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World

Focuses on the geographical, political, social, economic, and cultural forces in our globalized world. It contains almost 200 overviews of countries around the world, plus more than 500 maps, including political and topographical by country and world region, along with more than 1,700 biographies of important political and cultural figures.

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World

Username: khcpl
Password: patron

 

Read more: World Geography: Understanding a Changing World

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras

Covers human history in all corners of the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance. Features nearly 6,600 primary and secondary sources, and 1,200 biographies of important figures such as Alexander the Great, Confucius, William the Conqueror, and Eleanor of Aquitaine.

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras

Username: khcpl
Password: patron

 

Read more: World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras