Genealogy and Family History

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition is a research tool offering the most comprehensive genealogical information available online, with more than 4 billion names in over 4,200 collections.

Ancestry Library Edition

How can I access Ancestry Library Edition?
Our library has a subscription to Ancestry Library Edition. The electronic resource is available within the library. Please click on the link above to access the service.

At this time, you cannot use Ancestry Library Edition from your home computer; our license agreement with the providers of Ancestry Library Edition only permits use within the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library.

Note: Ancestry World Tree GEDCOM files are voluntarily submitted by Ancestry users. All files are “as is” and the completeness, accuracy, or timeliness of the information contained in this database cannot be guaranteed.

Read more: Ancestry Library Edition

Fold3 History and Genealogy Archives

Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Original records at Fold3 help you discover and share stories about these everyday heroes, forgotten soldiers, and the families that supported them. On Fold3, you can combine records found on the site with what you have in your own albums and shoeboxes to create an online memorial for someone who served.

Fold3

Read more: Fold3 History and Genealogy Archives

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique and growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. You can use this online electronic resource from the convenience of your home or at the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library.

HeritageQuest Online from a Library computer
HeritageQuest Online remotely

This is a growing collection which at this time includes:
Genealogy & Local History Collection of over 24,000+ book titles, including family histories, local histories and primary source documents such as tax lists, city directories, church and probate records, and more.

U.S. Federal Census has original images from 1790-1930, and many head-of-household name indexes are available. In addition, the census records can be searched by place of birth, age, ethnicity, and other variables.

Periodical Source Index (PERSI), a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,600 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. Search surnames, locations, and methodologies as well as the ability to browse the journals by title and keyword. PERSI is produced in cooperation with the Allen County Public Library Foundation.

The Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files contains some genealogical and historical information from an estimated 80,000 pension and bounty-land-warrant application files.

The Freedman’s Bank records (1865-1874) is considered one of the most important resources for African-American genealogical research. At the close of the Civil War, the Freedman’s Savings & Trust Company was the primary bank for America’s freed slaves and others from 1865-1874. You can search registers of signatures of bank depositors, dependants, and heirs.

The U.S. Serial Set contains House and Senate documents, such as Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions from 1789-1969.

Read more: HeritageQuest Online

Howard County Memory Project

Digital access to the historical, genealogical, and personal memories associated with Howard County, Indiana in an online resource that celebrates the people and culture of Howard County, both past and present.

Howard County Memory Project

Read more: Howard County Memory Project

Newspaper Archive

Provides searchable access to more than 300 hundred years of local historical newspapers dating back to the 17th century. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. It contains more than 130 million digitized pages of content from over 6,000 newspapers throughout North America, the UK, and other select countries worldwide.

Newspaper Archive

Read more: Newspaper Archive